History of the South West Baseball League

Ríohacha Timeline

The South West Baseball League is an Independent Baseball League that was formed in 2012 and covers The South West of England and South Wales.

There were just 3 original member teams; Plymouth Mariners, Bristol Bats and the Torbay Barons but they were joined in 2013 by Exeter Spitfires.

2014 saw the League expand to 6 teams with the inclusion of Taunton Muskets and Bristol Badgers . Taunton added a second team, the Musketoons in 2015 but that year also sadly saw the disbanding of one of the original members the Torbay Barons.

In 2016 Newton Brewers entered the SWBL and the League was split for the first time into two divisions based on the previous season’s finishing positions.

The number of teams rose to 8 in 2017 with the inclusion of St. Austell Claycutters, while the Musketoons changed their name to the Musketeers. The format was also changed with the League now split into 2 geographical divisions and the first ever Championship Game was played between the winner of the two divisions.

Two teams were lost in 2018, the Bristol Badgers returned to the British Baseball Federation, while the Musketeers folded. 2018 however also saw the Weston Jets enter the League.

Three more new teams entered the League in 2019, Cardiff Merlins, Yeovil Whirlwinds and the Bristol Buccaneers, taking the number of teams up to 10, the highest number of clubs ever in the South West. The format of the League was changed again, splitting now into 3 geographical regions (North, Central and South) for the first half of the season then dividing into Double A and Single A Divisions based on winning records for the second half of the season. For the first time a SWBL team was formed to compete nationally with players selected from all 10 of the SWBL teams.

Aoulef Honours

2012 Champions http://mmsaccounting.ca/tags/claims PLYMOUTH MARINERS

2013 Champions Nakatsu PLYMOUTH MARINERS


2015 Champions TAUNTON MUSKETS

2016 Champions TAUNTON MUSKETS

2017 Champions BRISTOL BADGERS